Medicine

Id rather

Struck up a conversation with a consultant, who was also my doctor, wherein we discussed different specialties. I told her i was going take internal medicine after which subspecialize in oncology. She asked me why onco because it was a depressing area. I told her i had that life changing event in my life. Why IM? Because it is an ever changing field and you look at the whole person.

She then told me, if she wasnt where she was at now, she wouldve taken up IM as well. But why not go for ob, derma, surgery, etc the less complicated specialties in medicine. I said, i have a strong gut feeling that there will be big changes in the oncology field.

She marked at me, “so you’d rather tell your patients that they’re dying”.. I went back at her and told her, “i’d rather tell my patients that they’re going to be okay”.

You see, the reason why i want to be a doctor is because i want to make a change. And i believe that it is in that field (oncology) that i will be a great contribution to society and people.

So here’s to telling people, there’s hope. 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

